A recipe worth sharing =)

IMG_1753I’ve rediscovered the bread machine, and it’s wonderous ability to help me create delicious breads with less work and time.  I found this recipe in my “bread machine magic” book, which has served me pretty well with my bread machine over the years.

Starts out with the basic directions to make your basic sweet dough (and I chose the buttermilk version myself…), which contains: 3 T dry buttermilk, 7/8 c water, 1 egg, 4 c flour, 1 salt, 4 T butter, 1/4 c sugar, 1/4 t baking soda and 1 1/2 t yeast.

IMG_1718And, this is the loveliness of the bread machine – all the work I did was dump the ingredients into the bread pan, select the “dough” option, and hit start.  That’s it. It takes care of all the mixing, sitting, rising, and kneading for me.  Beautiful.

About an hour and a half later, it beeped at me, so I get off my laptop and put a little flour on the counter and dump the dough out onto that.  They say to get yourself a 10″ ring, and brush some melted butter on it. (I used two small bread pans so I could save one for the fam, and take the other to a friend’s get together).

To form the loaf, you gotta melt yourself 1/4 c of butter in a small bowl, and add 1/2 c sugar and the grated rind of 2 small oranges, or 1 large naval orange. Mix that together as your glaze.  grab another bowl and dump some coconut in that, and create an assembly line of sorts – dough – glaze – coconut – bread pan.

IMG_1721Pinch off acorn size pieces of dough, roll it into a ball, cover it in glaze, dip it in the coconut, and place into the pan(s).  IMG_1723 Warm your oven by turning it on for 2 minutes, then turn it off.  Place your pan(s) into the warm oven to let the dough rise for 1/2 hr – 45 min till they’ve about doubled in size.

IMG_1733Take the pans out, preheat your oven to 350, bake for 30 min until golden. Remove from the heat, turn out onto a plate and serve warm. =)  The aroma of the orange with the crunch of coconut is so nice light and satisfying.

IMG_1755

