I love getting opportunities to make this recipe…I never dare make it just for Ricky and myself at home, I will end up eating All of it…which would not be a happy thing for my waist line ;0).  So thanks to my care group snack assignment last night, I got to eat it again =)  And just thought I’d share the recipe joy of it.

Note to CG: Thank you again all of you for praying for us last night after our car accident.  Praise the Lord we were both fine, and no one was hurt; I’m so grateful for the chance to get to pray with you all right after it happened, and to get a chance to pray for the salvation of the others involved.  You all and Gary and Betsy are Such a blessing from the Lord to us!

Ok, so here’s the Bread Pudding recipe:

Croissant and Chocolate Bread Pudding

(Thank you Real Simple for this delicious addition to my recipe binder – you can find basically this recipe and other great stuff at www.realsimple.com)

Hands-On Time: 10m Total Time: 50m

Ingredients

  • unsalted butter for the baking dish, at room temperature (13×9 works great, bakes in less time too)
  • 6 large egg yolks
  • 2 cups whole milk
  • 1 cup heavy cream
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract (I like adding rum extract or rum cream as well)
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg (you can spice it up by adding cinnamon and ground cloves too)
  • 6 croissants, cut into 1-inch pieces (about 1 pound)
  • 4 ounces bittersweet chocolate, cut into chunks (or reg choc chips will do…and feel free to be generous ;))
  • Optional – Coconut, dried fruit or berries of choice (I’m thinking of trying dried blueberries sometime, in the summer, topping it with fresh berries after it’s cooled)
  • 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt

Directions

  1. Heat oven to 375° F. Butter a shallow 2-quart baking dish or your 13 x 9.
  2. In a large bowl, whisk together the egg yolks, milk, cream, sugar, vanilla, salt, and nutmeg (and any other additions). Add the croissants and chocolate and mix to combine.
  3. Transfer the mixture to the prepared baking dish and bake until set and a knife inserted in the center comes out clean, 30 to 40 minutes. Serve warm or at room temperature.

MMMmm-mmm goodness

croissant-choc-pudding_300
